My Download Engine

Your Gateway to Digital Content

Technology

Check out these 7 Slack privacy settings right now

Advertisement: Click here to learn how to Generate Art From Text

It’s a Searchable Log of All Conversations and KnowledgeWe’re just living it.

SlackKnows all your secrets. Your trash talking DMs, your business plans made with the boss, numerous untold corporate musings — they all fill the San Francisco-based company’s servers, waiting to be viewed by a Nosey CEOA skilled worker HackerThe. entire world.

Like many other online services, the communication platform that so many people rely on is a potential privacy disaster. While you may not be able to choose whether or not to use the tool, there are ways to limit its privacy settings to prevent any negative consequences.

Let’s lock down the place.

1. Bosses reading your DMs

Slack’s paid plans are usually available for those who use it at work. This differs from the free version — which, say, your D&D crew might utilize to coordinate campaigns and meet ups — in several important ways.

The first is that your boss may be able to see your direct messages if you have the paid version. It is important to check if the setting is enabled in order to keep your DMs hidden. There’s a simple way to do this.

While signed into Slack in a web browser, head to slack.com/account/team and then click on “Retention & Exports.” Scroll down and click on “What data my admins can access.” You’ll get the answer.

You’re on blast
Credit: Slack

If the page says only that PublicationData can be exported and your DMs will remain safe from your boss. If it says, “Workspace owners can also export messages or files from private channel and direct messages,” your corporate overlords are able to pull your direct message.

2. Retention settings

You now know that you boss can read your direct messages. It’s a shame, but it’s not all bad. There are still ways to protect you, or at the very least reduce any harm that may result.

You should first adjust the so-called “retention settings” on your device. You can find out more about it here.Your direct messages. Slack allows workspace owners (i.e. the person managing your company’s Slack account) the ability to determine how long messages — both in public channels and direct messages — are saved. This could be for 90 or even forever. However, workspace owners can allow users to alter the retention settings of conversations in which they are involved.

If you have this power, you can and should adjust this setting on your own direct messages. Imagine this: If your boss wanted to see all of your direct messages, it would be better if he had a record of them for years. Or only the last 24 hours? Yeah, exactly.

Click on the gear icon at the top-right corner of the conversation and then select “edit the message retention.” Next, click “Use Custom Retention Settings for This Conversation,” select one day (the shortest time period you can choose), and then click save.

A screenshot of Slack's custom retention settings.

Bye, bye.
Credit: Slack

Your messages are now deleted automatically after 24 hour. This doesn’t mean that the messages are no longer on Slack servers, but they should be removed from the workspace owner’s reach after a day.

You have to do this every time you send a direct message, but it is a quick and easy change that is definitely worth it.

3. Encrypt it

Slack does NOT offer end-toend encryption of your messages.

Shhlack is a free browser add-on that can help you get around this problem. The extension is free. ChromeYou and your coworkers can encrypt all of your messages. It’s pretty simple to use, and means your private convos won’t be viewable in cleartext when your boss — or hackers — takes a peek.

As the GitHub page“This is a project that is still in progress and should be taken “with a grain or two of salt.” If you need to keep your messages 100% private for any reason, such as your job, or corporate secrets, then you will want to take more drastic privacy measures.

4. A change of venue

This is more of a tip than a setting. But it could save you.

Try creating a private Slack Channel (with a short-term retention setting!)Get the phone numbers of people you wish to chat with and then message them using the encrypted messaging app Signal. You can place encrypted calls over the Apps for free, create large group threads, send documents, conduct video chats and set messages to delete automatically after a certain amount of time.

There’s also a desktop version if you’re not a fan of typing with your thumbs.

5. You can’t delete your problematic comments

It may seem that editing Slack messages post-factum is a foolproof way to remove potentially problematic content. Guess what? Some Slack users track edits, and keep records of messages before they have been edited.

This setting will let you know whether you’re able to hide your tracks.

A screenshot of text explaining how long the conversation history in a Slack channel is kept.

They know exactly what you are changing.
Credit: Screenshot / Slack

While logged into your Slack account, go to https://my.slack.com/account/workspace-settings and click “Retention & Exports.” You’ll find all the answers you need here.

It’s best to think twice about sending a message, regardless of Slack settings.

6. 2FA

Keep your account secure by keeping it private. Protecting your account using two-factor authenticationThis is a great method to keep hackers out.

You can also read about how to get started. Set it up, when signed in, head to my.slack.com/account/settings. You’ll see “Two-Factor authentication” if you can enable the feature. Click “expand” and follow the prompts. You’ll need an authenticator app on your phone to make this work. Tonnage It is safe The following are alternatives toSlack allows you to work together.

This security feature should be enabled.

7. A new slate

Say you want to leave Slack or you are leaving a company, and you will no longer use that Slack Account. You might think that deleting your Slack account will remove all of your personal data, but this is not true.

It is better to ask for the workspace’s “primary” owner. Ask Slack to delete your profile info.

“When a member leaves a workspace or an organization, they have the right to ask that their profile be deleted by its primary owner.” What is the company?. “As data controller, it is the primary owner’s responsibility to determine whether profile information needs to be deleted.”

The primary owner must email Slack by clicking on [email protected]You can also find out more about A specific deletion request, noting “the member’s email address and your workspace URL.”

Once you’ve done that, you can finally enjoy your privacy.

UPDATE Jan. 22, 2024 5:55 PM AEDT This article originally appeared in July 2019. It has since been updated to Jan. 2024.



LEAVE A RESPONSE

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *